The Museum > History

History and Aims of the Museum
The Ilias Lalaounis Jewelry Museum is a unique museum devoted to the art of jewelry and the decorative arts. The museum was founded in 1993 and opened to the public, as a non-profit organisation. Today the Museumís permanent collection includes over 4000 pieces of jewelry and micro sculptures from over 50 collections designed by the museumís founder, Ilias Lalaounis, between 1940 and 2000. The permanent collection is enriched with donations including jewelry and decorative arts from around the world.
The main museum edifice was the original workshop of Ilias Lalaounis Company. The alterations of the space were designed by Bernard Zehrfuss (1908-1996) and the architectural plan was refined and carried out by the Architect, Vassilis Gregoriadis with the Engineer, George Athanasoulis.
Temporary exhibitions with decorative arts, cultural programs involving research and educational programs for children on the ancient art of goldsmithing, publications and adult cultural activities are in the museumís yearly agenda. The museumís initiative focuses on cultural programs for special social groups such as individuals with disabilities and special interests groups include: programs on jewelry design and making, gemology, art history, childrenís theatre, family weekend programs, special workshops on temporary exhibitions.
The ILJM constantly renovates its exhibitions and develops its activities in the contemporary spaces below the Acropolis on its south side. Looking to the future, the museum aims to develop into an international centre for the study of the decorative arts.
  Permanent Collections

Section V: Collections Inspired From Space, Biology and Technology
More info >
  Temporary Exhibitions

More info >
  Museum Shop

More info >

Sterling silver Brooch
More info >
  Join Our Mailing List

{ History } { Location } { Info }  { Permanent Collections } { Temporary Exhibitions }  { Spedos } { Educational Programs } { Guided tours }
{ Precious Spaces }{ Friends of ILJM } { Shops }  { News } { Contact }

Ilias Lalaounis Jewelry Museum © 2008